A Time For Family and Friends – A Time To Act

DGT-Thanksgiving

We know that for many in the USA this week is a traditional holiday and that there are similar such holidays around the world. This particular holiday is usually a great gathering time in homes across America where some of us are able to sit down at the  table and enjoy a Blessing of Abundance. Unfortunately not everyone in the states will be able to fill their bellies with turkey, potatoes and gravy and so many wonderful desserts. Many in our country are homeless and hungry, just like our brothers and sisters in Europe, Asia and throughout the world.

It occurred to me this week that I am truly blessed although I don’t live in a penthouse nor do I drive a new Maybach and spend hundreds of dollars on my shoes. I am lucky to have grown up never to have missed a meal, never had to live on the streets and always had clean clothes upon my back. And yet so many in our country and on this planet are going to sleep tonight without having had breakfast, lunch or dinner at all. So, I started thinking about what I might be able to do with my own music and artwork as a means to bring some sort of hope and dignity back to others. We here at DGT are always volunteering for whatever the good cause is that is before us such as hurricane and earthquake relief and that is all good. But what might I do all year long to bring about change with my music and with the love, energies behind damngoodtunes.com ?  I do not know the answer but rest assured I will seek it out and consult with all of our followers and every musician and band that I’ve come to know.

Perhaps we can all work together with our music, and with our Art and to initiate a new mission – one to help end hunger and homelessness.. A cause which will be driven daily toward a solution. No child, woman or man should go hungry or not have a safe, decent place to sleep, prepare food, to bathe and enjoy a more Human existence. It is our right. We are not primitive animals living in the dark and we must stop the fighting, bring the love and hope to this humanity one meal at a time.

Happy Thanksgiving

Bruce J Maier / CEO

Leave a Reply

